Turks.us Daily World EU News

Who's Online

Guest Users: 28


There are no upcoming events



Text of celebrities’ letter to Bush
Keep America Safe; Win Without War’

Dec. 10 — Following is the text of the letter to President Bush sent by Artists United to Win Without War:
War talk in Washington is alarming and unnecessary.
We are patriotic Americans who share the belief that Saddam Hussein cannot be allowed to possess weapons of mass destruction. We support rigorous UN weapons inspections to assure Iraq’s effective disarmament.
However, a preemptive military invasion of Iraq will harm American national interests. Such a war will increase human suffering, arouse animosity toward our country, increase the likelihood of terrorist attacks, damage the economy, and undermine our moral standing in the world. It will make us less, not more, secure.

We reject the doctrine — a reversal of long-held American tradition that our country, alone, has the right to launch first-strike attacks.
The valid U.S. and UN objective of disarming Saddam Hussein can be achieved through legal diplomatic means. There is no need for war. Let us instead devote our resources to improving the security and well-being of people here at home and around the world.
Gillian Anderson
Edward Asner
René Auberjonois
Amy Aquino
Jordan Baker
David Bale
Kim Basinger
Ed Begley, Jr.
Theo Bikel
Barbara Bosson
Jackson Browne
Peter Buck (REM)
Diahann Carroll
Eugene J. Carroll, Jr. (Rear Adm. U.S. Navy (Ret.)
Kathleen Chalfant
Don Cheadle
Jill Clayburgh
David Clennon
Jack Coleman
Peter Coyote
Peter Crombie
Lindsay Crouse
Suzanne Cryer
Matt Damon
Dana Daurey
Ambassador Jonathan Dean (U.S. Rep. to NATO-Warsaw Pact)
Vincent D’Onofrio
David Duchovny
Olympia Dukakis
Charles S. Dutton
Hector Elizondo
Cary Elwes
Shelley Fabares
Mike Farrell
Mia Farrow
Laurence Fishburne
Sean Patrick Flanery
Bonnie Franklin
John Fugelsang
Janeane Garofalo
Larry Gelbart
Melissa Gilbert
Danny Glover
Elliott Gould
Samaria Graham
Robert Greenwald
Robert Guillaume
Paul Haggis
Robert David Hall
Ethan Hawke
Marg Helgenberger
Ken Howard
Helen Hunt
Anjelica Huston
LaTanya Richardson Jackson
Samuel L. Jackson
Jane Kaczmarek
Melina Kanakaredes
Casey Kasem
Mimi Kennedy
Kevin Kilner
Jessica Lange
Téa Leoni
Donald Logue
Wendie Malick
Camryn Manheim
Marsha Mason
Richard Masur
Dave Mathews
Kent McCord
Mary McDonnell
Robert Duncan McNeill
Mike Mills (REM)
Janel Moloney
Esai Morales
Ed O’Neill
Chris Noth
Peter Onorati
Alexandra Paul
Ambassador Edward Peck (former U.S. Ambassador to Iraq)
Seth Peterson
CCH Pounder
David Rabe
Alan Rachins
Bonnie Raitt
Carl Reiner
Tim Robbins
Eric Roberts
Steve Robinson, Sgt., U.S. Army (Ret.) (National. Gulf War Resource Center)
Mitch Ryan
Susan Sarandon
Tony Shalhoub
Jack Shanahan, Vice Adm. U.S.N. (Ret.)
William Schallert
Martin Sheen
Armin Shimerman
Gloria Steinem
Marcia Strassman
Michael Stipe (REM)
Susan Sullivan
Loretta Swit
Studs Terkel
Lily Tomlin
Blair Underwood
Dennis Weaver
Bradley Whitford
James Whitmore
James Whitmore, Jr.
Alfre Woodard
Noah Wyle
Peter Yarrow
Howard Zinn

What's Related

Story Options

CELEBRITIES RAIL AGAINST WAR | 0 comments | Create New Account
The following comments are owned by whomever posted them. This site is not responsible for what they say.